For residents of Calgary-Centre who can’t wait to vote or can’t make it out on voting day, they can cast their ballots starting at noon in the advance poll for the byelection.

The poll is open from noon until 8 p.m. on Friday.

Voters in the district were also able to meet and ask questions from the candidates during an all-candidate meeting at the Cliff Bungalow-Mission Community Association on Thursday night.

Or, rather, it was a most-candidates meeting.

Conservative candidate Joan Crockatt was missing from the meeting and all the other candidates made mention of her absence.

Liberal Harvie Locke, Chris Turner for the Green Party, Dan Meades of the NDP, and a Libertarian Party candidate all traded shots nonetheless.

Bob Lang, a representative of the community association where the meeting was held, says Crockatt’s absence was disappointing. “I’m not an expert on that, but it’s disappointing because we are going to have a new MP and it would be good to have a chance to meet one of those potential MPs.”

Joan Crockatt posted an invitation on her Facebook page for voters to come and meet her at 1 p.m. at the East Village Community Association.

List of confirmed candidates for Calgary Centre as of November 7, 2012:

  • Joan Crockatt: Conservatice Party of Canada
  • Antoni Grochowski: Independent
  • Harvie Locke: Liberal Party of Canada
  • Dan Meades: New Democratic Party
  • Tony Prashad: Libertarian Party of Canada
  • Chris Turner: Green Party of Canada