The voters of Calgary-Glenmore have selected NDP candidate Anam Kazim as their next MLA following an election night stalemate.

On the evening of May 5, the unofficial elections results indicated incumbent PC MLA Linda Johnson and Kazim each received 7,015 votes of the 21,150 ballots cast in the southwest Calgary riding.

Uncertainty in the riding came to an end Friday afternoon when Elections Alberta released its official results indicating Kazim was victorious by a mere six votes.

  • Kazim NDP - 7,018 votes
  • Johnson PC - 7,012 votes
  • Kemp-Jackson WRP - 5,058 votes
  • Waddington LIB - 1,345 votes
  • Lo AP - 719 votes

According to Elections Alberta, a total of 21,152 votes were cast in the riding including 99 rejected ballots, 32 spoiled ballots and 9 declined ballots.

Outgoing MLA Johnson tells CTV Calgary she may request a judicial review of the results.

Kazim’s victory increases the NDP presence in the Legislature, adding a 54th seat to Rachel Notley’s majority government.

With Johnsons’ defeat, the PC Party was victorious in only 10 of Alberta’s 87 ridings. Given outgoing MLA and Premier Jim Prentice’s resignation in Calgary-Foothills, the PC Party is assured a minimum of nine seats in the Legislature.